Mini Manuscript

I had the pleasure of handling Adomeit 9 in the Lilly Library collections today.  As I was told by the very helpful librarian on the way out, the Adomeit collections is all large and miniatures.  Adomeit 9 is a miniature at 44 mm x 34 mm (1.732 inches x 1.338 inches.)  It is so small that I was told the proper way to handle the manuscript was in my hand, not using any supports or cushions.

The manuscript was made in France, possibly in Paris in the second quarter of the 16th century.

Size comparison with a medium sized paperclip.  Amazingly I had not pocket change with me at the time to do a proper size comparison.

Size comparison with a medium sized paperclip. Amazingly I had not pocket change with me at the time to do a proper size comparison.

 

The spine gives us a good idea of how this miniature was bound.

The spine gives us a good idea of how this miniature was bound.

 

Adomeit 9 - Back Cover

The back cover has some interesting marks hinting perhaps at how the binding was done.

 

Truly a miniature.  It fits in the palm of my hand easily.

Truly a miniature. It fits in the palm of my hand easily.

I opened the back cover and this is what I saw.

I opened the back cover and this is what I saw.

So how do you handle a book this small and almost 500 years old?  Very carefully and firmly, after all you really do not want to drop it and you don’t want to rip it apart either.

 

IMAG0980

Without my thumb there it is hard to tell this is a miniature.

Adomeit 9 - 19r

Very tiny writing and amazingly small decorated and illuminated initials

IMAG0983

Not only did the scribe have a good hand, but also was extremely talented to write this small and consistently write well.

Adomeit 73r

The scribe also used rubrication.

Adomeit 9 - 46r

Small and beautiful.  Notice the parchment.

IMAG0975

A verso, recto view.  72v and 73r.

Adomeit 9 - 59r

This page has a lot of elements to it. This despite the writing space being 30 mm x 17 mm. (1.181 inches by 0.669 inches)

 

That’s not all.  This manuscript had full page miniatures.

IMAG0985

IMAG0977

This was a lot of fun to hold, look at and take pictures of.  I really enjoyed my time with this miniature and I hope you have as well.

5 responses to “Mini Manuscript

    • I don’t know really. I was so enamored with it that I did not even think to check. We know that it had more than 94 folios. A folios is has two pages one on the front and one on the back.

Leave a Reply

