Brazilwood Ink – Red Redo

I was able to redo the red brazilwood ink.  Just as before I found the process rather simple.  Especially since I focused on only using brazilwood. I decided to make a triple batch so I used 32 fluid oz (946.353 ml) of vinegar and put 3 oz (85 g) of brazilwood in that to soak overnight. The next day I was greeted with a nice mixture.

 

If you look carefully you can see the yellow at the edges.

If you look carefully you can see the yellow at the edges.

I put it on the stove to boil  I did not take my own advice and I kept the brazilwood in the solution.  It worked out very well this time since I used more volume of vinegar.

It still warms up very quickly!

It still warms up very quickly!

And it came to a frothing boil quickly.  The recipe calls for a seething boil until you are left with half the volume you started with.

Okay boiled to half volume.

Okay boiled to half volume.

Add in 2 pennyworths of alum and 2 pennyworths of gum arabic per ounce of brazilwood.  I made the guess that a pennyworth is the same as a penny weight.  A pennyweight is .6 grams so 1.2 grams per ounce of brazilwood.  That is 3.6 grams each of alum and gum arabic.  I went ahead and rounded to 4 grams of each since my measuring device only goes to grams.

In it goes.  The alum and gum arabic are the white stuff in the picture.

In it goes. The alum and gum arabic are the white stuff in the pot.

The recipe then tells us to not let it froth over the top.  No problem there the pot is tall enough to stop that from happening.  So what happens?  The solution goes from what you see here to a beautiful red.  I filtered it and put it back in the pot to cool off.

There you have it, red brazilwood ink.

There you have it, red brazilwood ink.

So how does it write?  Nicely.  This time I wrote it straight from the pot.  That way I was able to test it before I could make any more mistakes as I did the first time.

Color difference depending on the writing surface.

Color difference depending on the writing surface.

I then bottled it up.

16 fl oz

The start of the bottling process.

DSCN2190

It can get messy no matter how careful you are. Clean up your messes before you spouse comes home.

DSCN2193

Final bottling. Pretty!

I’m happy with this batch of red ink.  Now that I’ve done it according to the recipe I want to play around and see what happens when I change things up a bit.

 

7 responses to “Brazilwood Ink – Red Redo

  1. Pingback: Brazilwood Ink – Red or whoops! | scribescribbling·

  2. Pingback: What is that ink doing? | scribescribbling·

Leave a Reply

