Gold Mace – Chaos at the Castle AS 49

Greetings,

This weekend it was my honor to coordinate scribes to create awards for the SCA Middle Kingdom.  There were three awards given out at the event and the one I worked on was for the Order of the Gold Mace.  The Order of the Gold Mace is the Grant of Arms level award for heavy fighting in the Middle Kingdom.

Order of the Gold Mace - Alexandru Vladescu - Chaos at the Castle AS 49

Order of the Gold Mace – Alexandru Vladescu – Chaos at the Castle AS 49

Scroll blank decoration and gilding:  THL Cerridwynn nic Alister,

Badge of crossed maces: Lady Hroswitha von Lippe

Calligraphy:  THL Ian the Green.  (Myself)
Paper:  Bristol Vellum.  This is an educated guess as it was a scroll blank.

Ink: Iron Gall Ink – Handmade by me January 4. 2014

Calligraphy Script – Gothic Litura Bastarde based on script from Tours, France 1450-1499

I lined the scroll every 3mm and skipped only one line between text lines.  I chose to leave the lines in because they would have most likely been left in in period as this was a higher quality piece of work.  If lines were removed it was most often for a low quality piece of work.

I wrote this using a brausse 0.75 mm nib and a mahogany pen holder.  I am out of quills for use as pens at the moment or else I would have used a quill pen.

I love making awards for people and seeing them receive the award.  This was my first time acting as Court Signet so I was able to be right there when the recipient received the award.

 

 

One response to “Gold Mace – Chaos at the Castle AS 49

Leave a Reply

