Milestone – 5,000 views


I started this blog on October 27, 2012.  I had heard many things about doing a blog about one’s hobby.  Some of it good but most of it neutral or bad.  I searched out advice about what free blogging service to use, how those services worked and of course how to use them.  I settled on WordPress because it just seemed the best fit for me.  Let me tell you, learning how to use WordPress at first wasn’t that hard in retrospect but at the time it almost felt like hand to hand digital combat.  Wisely WordPress has videos and learning forums and such that really helped me out.

And from those early days has come, “This.”  I know that 5,000 views is not a lot.  I’m fairly certain there are blogs out there that 5,000 views an hour or maybe in five minutes.  I don’t run those blogs and my subject, while obviously of some interest is not what one would consider in the popular eye of the public.  What we do though as calligraphers and as students of history is important to us.  And that is why I created the blog.  To add one more drop in the bucket in creating a sense of community for what we do.

It has been an amazing journey for me a tiny fish in the vast global pond.  And really it has only been six months so the journey continues as I have truly just taken the first few steps.  A review of my blog shows many things. First the hard numbers and then some reflection as I move forward.

5,000 views.

Where do people view my blog from?  All over the world. The vast majority of which are from the USA but the international following of my blog is diverse.

Country Views
United States FlagUnited States 3,836
Canada FlagCanada 160
United Kingdom FlagUnited Kingdom 126
Finland FlagFinland 93
Germany FlagGermany 66
France FlagFrance 65
Hungary FlagHungary 64
Italy FlagItaly 38
Australia FlagAustralia 36
Sweden FlagSweden 36
Brazil FlagBrazil 32
Slovakia FlagSlovakia 31
Mexico FlagMexico 28
Turkey FlagTurkey 25
Ireland FlagIreland 25
Spain FlagSpain 25
Denmark FlagDenmark 24
Taiwan, Province of China FlagTaiwan 22
Romania FlagRomania 20
Pakistan FlagPakistan 19
Russian Federation FlagRussian Federation 19
Belgium FlagBelgium 17
South Africa FlagSouth Africa 16
India FlagIndia 16
Serbia FlagSerbia 15
Malta FlagMalta 13
Norway FlagNorway 12
Philippines FlagPhilippines 10
Korea, Republic of FlagRepublic of Korea 10
Israel FlagIsrael 8
Netherlands FlagNetherlands 8
Bangladesh FlagBangladesh 7
New Zealand FlagNew Zealand 7
Bulgaria FlagBulgaria 6
Lebanon FlagLebanon 6
Japan FlagJapan 4
Austria FlagAustria 4
Colombia FlagColombia 3
Argentina FlagArgentina 3
Venezuela FlagVenezuela 3
Poland FlagPoland 3
Portugal FlagPortugal 3
Singapore FlagSingapore 3
Greece FlagGreece 3
United Arab Emirates FlagUnited Arab Emirates 3
Egypt FlagEgypt 2
Bahrain FlagBahrain 2
Hong Kong FlagHong Kong 2
Jamaica FlagJamaica 1
Lithuania FlagLithuania 1
Sri Lanka FlagSri Lanka 1
Croatia FlagCroatia 1
Czech Republic FlagCzech Republic 1
Uruguay FlagUruguay 1
Switzerland FlagSwitzerland 1
Algeria FlagAlgeria 1
Uganda FlagUganda 1
Macedonia, the former Yugoslav Republic of FlagMacedonia, the Former Yugoslav Republic 1
Jordan FlagJordan 1
Latvia FlagLatvia 1

This entry was written when there were 4,992 views in understandable anticipation of hitting 5,000 views today.

Yes, some of the views are a few, but I treasure every view and I hope that even in the one or three or twelve times my blog has been viewed by someone or somewhere that the experience has been a good one for them.  Of course I know that accidental visits happen and they may have been annoyed they ended up on my blog but I hope that they saw something they thought was cool.

Most views in one day – 192

Comments 68

Top 10 posts or pictures viewed by visitors (besides the home page):

Oak Gall Inks – Comparison of four 194
And now for something pretty 182
Ladders, Angles, and Drills Oh My! 159
Byland Abbey Ink Stand 149
Carolingian Minuscule 147
Soaking ink – Day 7 Comparison 141
Soaking Your Ink 132
Be Mindful – The Medieval Way? 127
Something Pretty Too 109
Ink Ingredients: Modern and Medieval 107
The Humanist Script – Manuscript Analysis – basic 104

Okay, 11, I added one to grow on.  :-)

Top 10 search terms that have landed people onto my blog:

carolingian miniscule materials 5
deerskin parchment 5
parchment collagene fiber tension 4
letter alcuin 4
calligraphy fiber tip pens 4
alcuin letter 4
what was the medieval way of thinking 3
scribescribbling.wordpress.com+the-humanist-script-manuscript-analysis-basic 2
medieval ink making 2
16th century gothic calligraphy 2

 

And really what all of these numbers tell me, is that I am doing something of interest to people.  That is an inspiring thought.  And what I do is of interest to people because the people who read and follow my blog, are doing things of interest to others.

My blog’s success, such as it is, is huge to me compared to what I expected.  I figured if I got 10 views a week I would be doing extremely well.  I remember the first day I broke 10, views I was really happy.  The day I broke 40, I was in orbit and the day I broke 100, I was over the moon.  My spouse laughed with and I’m sure at me about it.

I am thankful for all the views and all the visitors.  You mean a lot to me and you inspire me to keep putting up blog posts.  I look forward to earning another 5,000 views by putting up information and content that is worthy of it.  thank you all so very much.

 

4 responses to “Milestone – 5,000 views

Leave a Reply

