OPW – A short post


It has been too long since I posted about other people’s work.

If you are in the SCA and know of an artist who does good work, let me know about them and send me a link to their work.  I may highlight them.  No, it does NOT have to be related to scribal work at all.

So I want to tell you about a person I know in the SCA by the title and name Lord Christoph von Steinach, I first met Christoph at the Tree Girt Sea 12th Night hosted by the Canton of Tree Girt Sea in the Barony of Ayreton.

 

Lord Christoph struck me as an intelligent, inquisitive and possessing excellent perception for details.  I have a sheet of parchment that I have drawn lines on with a lead/tin stylus in one direction and in the other direction I drew lines with a graphite pencil.  To date only Lord Christoph has been able to discern which were which just by looking.

I had set up a display of scribal tools that included many period style materials and tools.  If you have been following my blog you too have seen these materials and tools in my blog posts Top of My Desk and Right Side of My Desk.  He had fun looking and learning and geeking out with me.

Little did I know he was working on one heck of an awesome project at the time.  You really should see the finished project.  He did a write up of it complete with pictures and explanation on facebook.  He scribed an entry on commission in, “The Book of the Couter“.  And his work is just amazing.

Keep an eye on him folks, he’s got game as the saying goes.

Leave a Reply

