Gilded Sphinx


I saw some pictures of a couple of my scribal friend playing around with writing small.   They were having a lot of fun.  I decided to play around with small lettering as well, but I decided to take it up a notch.  I gilded it.

The wording is a pangram.  It uses every letter in the english alphabet at least once.  I left out the “r” in “quartz” but I made up for it when I wrote “hear” even if I did have to strike it through.

DSCN0342

Tiny gilding on parchment. Text: Sphinx of black quatz hear [strike through] judge my vow

This was a fun little exercise to do.  First I compared different nib tips under my microscope.  I wanted to choose a nib that was very small and sturdy so the tip would not spread when written with.

DSCN0343

Tiny gilding on parchment. Text: Sphinx of black quatz hear [strike through] judge my vow

Keeping the nib from separating at the tip was a key point in my plan because it would help keep the ink in the thinnest line possible.  I also hoped it would keep the thicks the thins of the ink like just as a larger nib would.

DSCN0344

Tiny gilding on parchment. Text: Sphinx of black quatz hear [strike through] judge my vow

First I practiced with iron gall ink until I got it right.  I even did a ladder to determine the “x” height or the width between my baseline and waistline was going to be.  Just over 1 mm.

DSCN0345

An american dime for comparison. For my international readers who may not know I wish to explain that a dime is the smallest sized coin in the USA and is worth 10 cents. It is 17.9 mm in diameter

That worked out well.  Then I used my Kohlner’s Miniatum Ink and used an eye dropper to put about 0.33 ml into a porcelain cup.  I then cleaned the eye dropper and used it to add about 0.15 ml of water to the miniatum ink.

DSCN0346

An american dime for comparison. For my international readers who may not know I wish to explain that a dime is the smallest sized coin in the USA and is worth 10 cents. It is 17.9 mm in diameter

Writing with this watered down mixture was not easy as it was difficult to see.  I was able to quickly adapt though.  Once I was done writing with it, I let it sit a couple of minutes and then I gilded it.  I like how it turned out.  It was a fun little project to do.  I hope you enjoyed it as well.

One response to “Gilded Sphinx

  1. That was really cool! My Grandma would like it. She used to make miniatures. You are so talented. If I ever need scribal work, I’ll commission a miniature from you❤

Leave a Reply

